Daisy

Hello all,

There are so many things that I could write about today, but they are all going to have to wait. Why? Because the thing I want to talk about most right now is someone who I will refer to as Daisy. She knows who she is, and if she ever reads this post, I really hope she takes it to heart because every single word is true.

So, Daisy. Daisy is one of the incredible people I was lucky enough to meet during my first year of university. I remember meeting her for the first time and just thinking what an absolute bundle of joy she was, and how much that made me want to get to know her. Of course, she only made this easier with her unparalleled kindness and care.

As I got to know Daisy better and better, I realised that this pocketful of sunshine (who I was lucky enough to be befriending) emitted a happiness that was not actually as pure as I had recently believed. She, too, had known heartbreak and hardship, just like all of us. And this just made me admire her even more. I can honestly say that I have never in my life met someone as selfless and as understanding as her. At the drop of a hat she would throw her troubles aside, no matter their size, to be the punching bag, hand to hold, and shoulder to cry on for someone else.

She talks often about putting on a ‘facade’ – and the English Literature student in me absolutely adores that – to please the outside world. As much as it kills me to say it, she’s absolutely right. The society we live in right now would much rather see a painted mask and go on smoothly than see a furrowed brow full of concern and have to confront it. With the critique, judgement, and outright opinionated people in the 21st century, it is so much easier to just put on a suit of armour when you leave the house in the morning and fight the war until you get home. Think about it – that colleague in the lift who says “How are you?” every morning, do they really care? Here’s the thing about Daisy, she genuinely does.

She once told me that she believes every person on Earth has a purpose, and I can tell you that hers is this; she exists as a shining star to guide those who get lost along the way. What that ‘lost’ is, I cannot say, but I can say that whatever it is, she finds a way to help and she truly does. She lays down all the wisdom she can, and when that isn’t enough, she is simply there to hold you.

So on the subject of friendship, I’d like to extend a question to you; what is it that draws certain people together? Sure, maybe it was just coincidence that Daisy and I wound up in the same university halls, but maybe it wasn’t. I’d like to quote one of my favourite books – you’ll see this quote a lot, I’ll apologise for that now – “We can be mended. We mend each other.” The immortal closing words from Veronica Roth in her novel ‘Allegiant’. And I think this lends itself well to the friendship that Daisy and I share. She saves me and I only hope I can do the same in return.

I’d like to leave you all with this closing note; tell a friend that you appreciate them today. I know it seems trivial but sometimes it is precisely what they need to hear from you, trust me. And Daisy, if you are reading this, thank you for existing, and thank you for being who you are. You know how much I adore you.

Keep dreaming,
Scarlett x

Leave a Reply

