Return

Hello all,

I apologise for my absence over the past month or so, I’ve been feeling a bit lost lately. But rest assured, I am looking for a way back to my photography, writing, and blogging, so I’m happy to say that I have taken the first step.

Whenever I find that I feel a little lost or a bit unsure of what it is I am doing, I like to go back to the start, and remind myself of the simplicities of what it is I want. I think it’s very easy to get caught up in lots of different threads of thought nowadays, what with everyone else and their opinions, so it is important to try and peel it all away every now and again and find the core of your beliefs.

As ever, this is easier said than done, but I always like to start with the things that I am most comfortable doing and that mean the most to me, hence why I am writing to you now. I think writing can be a great way of finding your way back and keeping you on track, even if you don’t notice it, because it simply allows for you to say anything and everything you want to without thinking about it for too long. In a way, it’s like giving the subconscious its own pen and paper and letting it do the work.

You’ll also see that I’ve attached a photo with this article that maybe doesn’t say ‘Return’ as obviously as it could. The photo was taken on a beach during February, so very bare as you can see, but what makes it one of my favourite photos is the reminder that the lifeguard chair and lifesaver are always in place, ready to be of service when you’re trying to navigate the ocean and all its power. Perhaps the English student in me is reading into this too much, but I’d like to think that there are always one or two things, or one or two people who can bring us back when we’ve fallen off track.

Keep dreaming and keep looking for your way back,
Scarlett x

IMG_7203

Leave a Reply

