Literature Therapy

Hello all,

So last night I found myself in a bit of a bad mood. Unfortunately, this is a quite a common occurrence for me, but I will cover that in a later post, one when I am ready to be truly honest.

Anyway, so being in a bad mood, naturally, I turn to the three things that instantly and always make me feel better; music, books, and tea. So I made a cup of tea, English breakfast with soy milk, bag left in, put on my ‘Yes’ playlist which can be found on Spotify by clicking here if any of you would like to follow it, and went on Amazon to browse for some books. (Just as an extra point, the ‘Yes’ playlist consists of songs that I would want to be in a film that I write the screenplay for one day, so they are good for writing inspiration if you need some! Also feel free to follow me.)

So there I was, browsing away and feeling rather sorry for myself as I hadn’t read anything recently that had made me want to write, and I decided it was time to change that. I went to my list of books I wanted to read, randomly selected three of them, and ordered away! They were ‘We Were Liars’ by E. Lockhart, ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell, and ‘The Shock of the Fall’ by Nathan Filer. I have heard very good things about the first two, though I am slightly more unfamiliar with the latter. Either way, I’m excited to read them all!

As an aspiring writer, or writer, I could say, as I am writing right now, I always find it interesting to think about the amount of writers and people who are so willing to put their own reality on hold to create an entirely new one. I mean, what does that really say about us? Are we so discontented with the marvels of our world that we would abandon it at first chance?

In an answer? Yes. Who wouldn’t want the perfect romance ballad as they kissed in the rain, or a montage of motivational actions every time they weren’t sure what to do in life? Wouldn’t that be so much easier? But unfortunately, it’s just not going to happen that easily, and we can only get our daily dose of these realities through reading, so that is what we must continue to do.

Keep dreaming, and keep reading my friends,
Scarlett x

2 thoughts on “Literature Therapy

Leave a Reply

